Cherilyn Mackrory MP elected co-chair of All Party Parliamentary Group for Local Democracy

Cherilyn Mackrory, Member of Parliament for Truro and Falmouth, has been elected as co-chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Local Democracy.

The APPG for Local Democracy exists to promote the virtues of existing forms of first tier local authorities; to inform policy making and initiatives affecting first tier local authorities; and to stimulate debate on models of community governance.

Cherilyn said:

“I want to say a huge thank you to the National Association of Local Councils for their continued support to All Party Parliamentary Group for Local Democracy, and their tireless work, along with the 43 county associations, in supporting local councils.”

“With my experience of being a local councillor, I am delighted to be appointed co-chair and look forward to building on the previous sterling work of the group and my fellow Cornish MP Scott Mann in particular. I'm also thrilled at the appointment of Baroness Scott of Bybrook as NALC's president, and I look forward to working with her and my fellow co-chair Richard Holden, MP for North Durham.”